L.A. indie-pop faves Robotanists reinterpret entire new Radiohead album in 24 hours – News

L.A. indie-pop faves Robotanists reinterpret entire new Radiohead album in 24 hours

“Robotanists root around in the electro-noir explored by Mazzy Star and Portishead, with Ellquist’s sultry voice narrating the way through forays into the dark both metaphorical and literal. Their penchant for the atmospheric never becomes an overbearing aesthetic, though – you can take the title of one of their songs, ‘Subtlety Is Underrated,’ seriously.” — Kevin Bronson, Buzz Bands

While most Radiohead fans were still soaking in the band’s new album, Los Angeles’ glamorous indie-pop group Robotanists reinterpreted, recorded and released their own version of The King of Limbs in its entirety, just 24 hours after its release. Their version of the album can be streamed HERE.

Just last week Robotanists released their own third full length album, Plans In Progress, produced by Danny Kalb (Beck, Karen O, Feist). RCRD LBL recently posted the premiere of the song, “On/Off The Ledge”, which is available HERE. Check out the complete Plans In Progress album HERE.

Check out songs from Robotanists’ previous releases: “Wait A Minute Here” (MP3) (VIDEO) from Close Down The Woods and their brilliant reworking of the Jay-Z hit, “Empire State of Mind” as “Exiled State of Mind” (MP3) (VIDEO) from the Shapes and Variations covers project. Stream/download complete albums via Bandcamp HERE.

Comprised of songwriters Sarah Ellquist (vocals & keys) and Daniel DeBlanke (guitar, keys) and rhythm section Keith Boyarsky (bass) and Preston Scott Phillips (drums), Robotanists have spent the past couple of years spreading their big choruses and delicate prose across North America on tour and on the radio. Their breakthrough single “Wait a Minute Here” (from the band’s 2008 debut, Close Down The Woods) topped charts in Los Angeles (KCRW, KROQ) and other major cities across the US. “Subtlety is Underrated” was recently featured in a particularly provocative striptease scene on the 2011 season premiere of The Jersey Shore.

The group’s latest effort further expands its lush and lulling sound with contributions from Brad Breek (The Mae Shi, Skull Tape) who added analog synth throughout.

Artist: Robotanists
Album: Plans In Progress
Label: Overhead Records
Release Date: February 15th, 2011

Track List:
1. Have We Met Before?
2. Terminal A
3. ON/OFF The Ledge (MP3)
4. The Lack Thereof
5. Plans In Progress
6. Luggage vs. Baggage
7. The Ghost You’re Haunting

Artist: Robotanists
Album: The King of Limbs (Free download)
Label: Overhead Records
Release Date: February 20th, 2011

Track List:
1. Bloom
2. Morning Mr. Magpie
3. Little By Little
4. Feral
5. Lotus Flower
6. Codex
7. Give Up The Ghost
8. Separator

Artist: Robotanists
Album: Shapes and Variations
Label: Overhead Records
Release Date: March 30th, 2010

Track List:
1. Exiled State of Mind (reworking of Jay-Z’s “Empire State of Mind”) (MP3) (VIDEO)
2. Dance, Dance, Dance (Lykke Li)
3. Are You Really Going Out With Her? (reworking of Joe Jackson’s “Is She Really Going Out With Him?”)
4. All You Ever Wanted (The Black Keys)
5. Heaven (Bryan Adams)
6. Never Tear Us Apart (INXS)
7. Glass In Your Headlights (reworking of Phillip Glass’ “Glassworks, Outro”)

On the Web: