Unsane release Wreck on Alternative Tentacles – News

Unsane release Wreck on Alternative Tentacles

Legendary NYC rock powerhouse Unsane has completed work on its long awaited new album, titled Wreck. The seventh full length recording of the band’s storied career is available via Jello Biafra’s Alternative Tentacles label.

Recorded by the band and producer Andrew Schneider at Brooklyn’s Translator Audio (Pelican, Keelhaul, etc.), Wreck is an unfettered burst of pent up emotions and frustrations channeled into song and an unflinching glance into a type of life others probably should not lead.  From the shock and awe of the LP’s lead track “Rat” and the stunningly damaged “Decay” to the doom and gloom of the heavy handed “No Chance” and through to the transcendental brainwork of “Stuck”, Unsane’s “Wreck” is darkly abrasive and poetic music delivered with a fearsome intensity.  A punishing, but ultimately tuneful album, realistic in subject matter and as engaging as it is abrasive, “Wreck” features Unsane at its legendary best. Chris Spencer’s vocals and lyrics positively ache with fear and loathing (resembling the sound of a man trapped in the New York Subway system) while his searing Telecaster howl and pulverizing chords wreak havoc over Vincent Signorelli’s drums and Dave Curran’s thick as lava bass lines.  Unsane celebrates its 20th anniversary by delivering the darkest and most personal record of its celebrated career; “Wreck” is the band’s defining moment. 

“Making the album “Wreck” has been amazingly cathartic. Not only musically, but personally,” comments Spencer. “Writing with Dave and Vincent is always great, and having been together so long made it easy to focus on what musically and lyrically would sum up this period of time. Recordings about modern urban life. The constant noise, confrontation, stress and alienation that goes with it, and the dysfunctional ways people try to deal with it. The death, drugs, attempted suicide and completely degenerative behavior of those around us really left a mark. I really was feeling like I needed to get it out of my system. There are some moments of redemption, but more often than not things did not end well. As the world population reaches seven billion it’s impossible not to feel the overcrowding.”

The track listing for Unsane’s “Wreck” is as follows:
1.) Rat
2.) Decay
3.) No Chance (Pitchfork premiere)
4.) Pigeon
5.) Metropolis
6.) Ghost (Decibel premiere)
7.) Don’t
8.) Stuck
9.) Roach
10.) Ha Ha Ha (* Flipper cover)

Upon the release of the new LP, Unsane will team up with punk rock legends THE MELVINS for what promises to be one of the year’s most anticipated underground rock tours. The like-minded bands will launch the 21 city trek on April 11 in San Jose, CA and will collaborate on an über-limited tour 7″ EP featuring each band covering a song from the other. The tour-only vinyl release will feature cover artwork from Amphetamine Reptile Records founder Thomas Hazelmyer.