Midlake premieres “Provider” from their new album – News

Midlake premieres “Provider” from their new album

NPR Music’s “All Songs Considered” premieres the new track “Provider” from Midlake’s upcoming album Antiphon. NPR Music says “Each of Midlake’s full-lengths has had it’s own character, though they share an affinity for the ’70s, when progressive rock and bold musical themes ruled. This album feels dreamy in a psychedelic way. But, like music from the classic band The Moody Blues, even the spacier moments still hold on to melody and structure”. Denton, Texas’ favorite sons will celebrate their first ATO Records release November 5. The band will kick off new dates on November 5 at Brighton Music Hall in Boston, MA and will make stops in major markets including New York, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Chapel Hill, Atlanta and Nashville winding up with two dates opening for Pearl Jam in Dallas and Oklahoma City.

The album is now available for pre-order with the official pre-order and via iTunes. The band recently revealed the artwork for the album. After the costumed antics of the band’s last two album covers, the color-saturated globe on Antiphon takes a different tack, and a broader picture outside of Midlake’s internal dynamic. “It conjures imagery of a celebratory fireworks display,” Pulido suggests “but it’s actually a diagram of an exclusive group of connected entities with disproportionate amounts of control over the global economy. It’s a beautiful way to show a darker side of things in the world.”

Recorded at their studio in Denton, the self produced Antiphon came together in six months and was mixed by Tony Hoffer (Belle and Sebastian, M83, Beck). According to Eric Pulido, “Antiphon is the most honest representation of the band as a whole, as opposed to one person’s vision that we were trying to facilitate.”

“It’s always through the scope of Midlake,” said Pulido of the new record, “but on Antiphon we wanted to embrace the psychedelia, style and nuance you might hear in bands from yesteryear while also being aware of music influences leading up to and present now. The result was less folk and more rock. Less nostalgic and more progressive. Now the sky’s the limit.”

This new genesis for Midlake is down to the ambition and ability of members Eric Pulido (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Paul Alexander (bass, keyboards, bassoon, guitars, backing vocals), McKenzie Smith (drums, percussion) and Eric Nichelson (guitars, autoharp) and included new permanent members Jesse Chandler (keyboards, piano, flute, backing vocals) and Joey McClellan (guitars, backing vocals) from Midlake’s last live incarnation. And it’s also down to the absence of former singer Tim Smith, who left the band in November 2012.

The band was formed in 1999 by a group of jazz students at the University of North Texas College of Music who made their debut as Midlake with 2004’s Bamnan and Silvercork. The 2006 album The Trials of Van Occupanther brought the band critical acclaim with Entertainment Weekly saying “Midlake excel at lush, harmony-laden ballads” and Mojo calling the album “an invigorating, many-faceted work of diverse instrumentation and durability.” The band’s 2010 The Courage of Others followed which The A.V. Club praised as “more personal…bracing—stunning, even.”

* with Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros
† with Pearl Jam
November 5                                                 Allston, MA                                    Brighton Music Hall
November 6                                               New York, NY                                        Mercury Lounge
November 9                                             Washington, DC                                Rock and Roll Hotel
November 10                                            Philadelphia, PA                                      Johnny Brenda’s
November 11                                            Chapel Hill, NC                                                  Local 506
November 12                                                Atlanta, GA                                                       The Earl
November 13                                              Nashville, TN                                                      The End
November 15                                                Dallas, TX                         
American Airlines Center †
November 16                                         Oklahoma City, OK                 Chesapeake Energy Center †

1.  Antiphon
2.  Provider
3.  The Old and The Young
4.  It’s Going Down
5.  Vale
6.  Aurora Gone
7.  Ages
8.  This Weight
9.  Corruption
10. Provider Reprise