Brant Bjork (Kyuss, Fu Manchu) Releases Self-Titled LP – News

Brant Bjork (Kyuss, Fu Manchu) Releases Self-Titled LP April 10

Brant Bjork, the legendary California-based singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and founding member of Kyuss, will release his thirteenth studio album, the self-titled Brant Bjork, on April 10 via Heavy Psych Sounds Records. The eponymous effort was recorded with Yosef Sanborn in Joshua Tree, CA and mastered by John McBain (Monster Magnet, Queens of the Stone Age). Bjork performed all instrumentation and vocals on the new album, stripping his unmistakable songwriting style to its core while bringing out the organic vibe that’s made him desert rock’s most crucial practitioner.

The first single from ‘Brant Bjork’ is the snake-like “Jungle in the Sound,” which slithers and glides seamlessly, showing off Bjork’s flawless command of his craft. Stream ‘”Jungle in the Sound'” at this location.

“Artists are committed to finding authentic confidence in worlds of insecurity,” says Bjork. “Once your artist’s confidence is discovered, you’ve surrendered to what your true creative nature is. This new record is my true creative nature and the opening song, “Jungle In The Sound,” is a perfect example of that surrendering.”

 Track listing:
   1.) Jungle in the Sound (stream HERE)
   2.) Mary (You’re Such A Lady)
   3.) Jesus Was A Bluesman
   4.) Cleaning Out the Ashtray
   5.) Duke of Dynamite
   6.) Shitkickin’ Now
   7.) Stardust & Diamond Eyes
   8.) Been So Long

Pre-order ‘Brant Bjork’ at this location. Heavy Psych Sounds Records is distributed in the USA by All That Is Heavy and Forced Exposure. 

Brant Bjork has spent over a quarter century at the epicenter of Californian desert rock. From cutting his teeth alongside Fatso Jetson’s Mario Lalli in hardcore punkers De-Con to drumming and composing on Kyuss’ landmark early albums, to propelling the seminal fuzz of Fu Manchu from 1994-2001 while producing other bands, putting together offshoot projects like Ché, embarking on his solo career as a singer, guitarist and bandleader, founding his own record label and more, Bjork’s history is a winding narrative of relentless, unflinching creativity. Brant Bjork’s most recent releases, ‘Mankind Woman’ (2018) and 2019’s ‘Jacoozzi’ have met to shining acclaim, hailed as “super fresh” (Brooklyn Vegan) and “effortlessly cool” (Consequence of Sound). Kerrang! is streaming ‘Jacoozzi’ in full, calling the LP, “the soundtrack to your summer.” (for more, visit this location).

About Brant Bjork:
Unique creativity and years of hard touring have positioned Brant Bjork as an ambassador for the Southern California desert and the musical movement birthed there in the late ‘80s and early ‘90s. As underground interest has surged in recent years, Bjork has been a pivotal figurehead, realigning with his former Kyuss band mates to drum and write in Kyuss Lives! / Vista Chino, celebrating and building on that legacy while giving a new generation of fans the chance to see it happen in real-time. Bjork’s crucial solo works have always been about freedom through rock and roll, attained by the truest representation of the person and the place as art. This, along with a whole lot of groove, is what has helped Brant Bjork define desert rock as a worldwide phenomenon, and whatever comes next, it is what will continue to make him its most indispensable practitioner. 

Find Brant Bjork online @ and via Facebook and Instagram.