German Psych-Metal power trio Kadavar return with new album – News

German Psych-Metal power trio Kadavar return with new album

(Nuclear Blast)
by Intern

Towering psych-metal trio Kadavar released its new album, Berlin, on August 21 via Nuclear Blast Records. The record is the band’s third, following its 2012 debut, Kadavar, which was hailed as “perfectly styled 70s psych-metal from a Berlin trio that cheated on Led Zeppelin with Pentagram” by SPIN and 2013’s Abra Kadavar, which Popmatters rightfully claimed “takes us back to the origins of metal”. In advance of the release of Berlin, Kadavar premiered a music video for the new single, “The Old Man”.

Kadavar has met to worldwide acclaim since its formation in 2010. The relentless road dogs have toured the world incessantly, including European and North American headlining treks, and have shared the stage as guests of SLEEP, Electric Wizard and Saint Vitus. As part of its 2014 North American tour, Kadavar was hailed as being “in the same class of like-minded label mates Graveyard” by SF Weekly, while Metro Philadelphia gushed that “Kadavar has cast a spell on all fans of solid riff-driven yet doom-like 70’s hard rock à la BLACK SABBATH or PENTAGRAM.” Exceptionally strong performances as part of the Austin Psych Fest and SXSW in 2013 and 2014 provided critics concrete proof that the threesome is the real deal.

Now, with the release of Berlin, Kadavar puts its best foot forward, delivering a tour-de-force of an album that is at once powerful, expressive, confident, and commanding; inspired by both their beloved hometown and the hundreds of foreign cities the band has rocked during its never-ending global travels. 

Berlin track listing:

     1.) Lord of the Sky
     2.) Last Living Dinosaur
     3.) Thousand Miles Away From Home
     4.) Filthy Illusion
     5.) Pale Blue Eyes
     6.) Stolen Dreams
     7.) The Old Man
     8.) Spanish Wild Rose
     9.) See the World With Your Own Eyes
   10.) Circles in My Mind
   11.) Into the Night
   12.) Reich der Träume (Bonus Track: Nico cover)