No Joy Shares unreleased Motherhood demo – News

No Joy Shares Unreleased Motherhood Demo

No Joy shares unreleased track “Drone 6,” a raw demo from the Motherhood recording sessions which features Daryl Palumbo (Glassjaw, Head Automatica) and TJ Penzone.

Says No Joy’s Jasamine White-Gluz of the track:
“This was a total one-take-stream-of-consciousness demo that I wrote and recorded in December 2016. There were no lyrics, no planning; I just let the ‘tape’ roll and played whatever I was feeling. 

I sat with the track for a year but couldn’t figure out where to take it next. I’ve known Daryl (Palumbo) and TJ (Penzone) for like 20 years, as a good chunk of my younger years was spent in Long Island going to hardcore shows. I ran into TJ on the Quicksand tour and we talked about how him, Daryl, and I should try working together on music. We remotely started playing around with the track and I sent them my ‘stream of consciousness’ files. The vocal take on there is the first and only one I did. They added so many new sounds and dimensions. and it really began to shine. 

For whatever reason, it didn’t get worked on any further during the Motherhood sessions. I keep coming back to it all these years later, loving how both incredibly rough and soaring it sounds at the same time. I don’t think this is the last we’ll see of this tune.”

December 2020 saw the release of the first of the Motherhood Demos, “Disco 6”, of which White-Gluz comments: “This demo was born in March 2016. I continued to work on it throughout our summer European 2016 tour with Jorge Elbrecht, who was playing guitar at the time. I kept revisiting it and trying to find its place but it never seemed to click. One potential collaborator I brought this song to referred to it as ‘sounding like when you walk into a Guitar Center and every instrument is playing at once’ I still love this track in all its confusing glory.”

Stream / Purchase “Disco 6” Here

On 2020’s Motherhood, No Joy’s first full length since 2015’s More Faithful, White-Gluz took what she learned from synthesis, reincorporated guitars, and produced an album that is not a departure from No Joy’s early shoegaze, but a stylistically omnivorous expansion that ekes into trip hop, trance and nu-metal. Motherhood is the culmination of years composing outside of her comfort zone, and a return to DIY recording with a leveled-up expertise in production.

No Joy – Motherhood
(August 21st, 2020 – Joyful Noise Recordings)
1. Birthmark
2. Dream Rats
3. Nothing Will Hurt
4. Four
5. Ageless
6. Why Mothers Die
7. Happy Bleeding
8. Signal Lights
9. Fish
10. Primal Curse
11. Kidder

No Joy on the World Wide Web:
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Bandcamp |
Joyful Noise Recordings

  • 1